2012 season dates:
- Spring Season: March 12 - April 24.
- Fall Season: August 11 - October 21.
- Wild Turkey - special permit required
- Spring Wild Turkey: April 14 - May 20.
- Fall Wild Turkey: October 13 - January 13, 2013.
- Early Canada Goose: August 15 - September 15 (Sept. 7 Missouri River Zone) - Also requires a federal migratory bird hunting (duck) stamp for those older than age 16. Although Canada geese are not upland game they are included here because early Canada goose season regulations are contained in the small game hunting regulations.
- Dove: September 1 - October 30.
- Hungarian Partridge: September 8 - January 6, 2013.
- Sharp-tailed Grouse: September 8 - January 6, 2013.
- Ruffed Grouse: September 8 January 6, 2013.
- Tree Squirrels: September - 8 January 6, 2013.
- Sandhill Crane Unit 1: September 15 - November 11.
- Sandhill Crane Unit 2: September 15 - October 21.
- Snipe: September 15 - December 2.
- Woodcock: September 22 - November 5.
- Tundra Swan: September 29 - December 30.
- Pheasants: October 13 - January 6, 2013.
- Weasel Trapping: October 27 - March 15.
- Mink and Muskrat Trapping: October 27 - April 30.
- Fisher Trapping: (season quota 15) November 26 - March 15.
Species Distribution Maps for more common species:
Hunter Education Requirements and Who is Exempt
Persons born after 1961 must complete a certified hunter education course and show proof of certification when buying or applying for hunting licenses (official courses offered by other states and Canadian provinces meet these requirements). Exceptions: Persons under age 12 who hunt only with their parent or legal guardian; persons who hunt exclusively on land of which they are the record title owner or operator; and those who obtain an Apprentice Hunting License.
A resident must possess the following licenses:
- Fishing, Hunting, and Furbearer Certificate - $1
- Small Game License - $6 (Not required of residents under age 16)
- General Game and Habitat License - $13, or a Combination License - $32 (includes Small Game, General Game and Habitat, Furbearer, and Fishing licenses).
- ** See below for sandhill crane permit details.
A nonresident must possess the following licenses:
- Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate - $2
- General Game and Habitat License - $13
- Nonresident Small Game License - $85 (good for two 7-day periods or one 14-day period). Nonresident small game and waterfowl licenses are issued only through the Department's Bismarck office, Online Services, and by calling instant licensing at 1-800-406-6409 (Note: for instant licensing on the telephone, a service charge of $4 is assessed for each transaction under $70 and $10 for transactions of $70 or more).
- More than one license may be purchased per season.
- There are no nonresident zone restrictions for small game hunting.
- ** See below for sandhill crane permit details.
A Nonresident May Not Hunt G&F Lands October 13-19
In accordance with state law, nonresidents are not allowed to hunt on Game and Fish Department wildlife management areas or conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas from October 13-19, 2012.
Nonresidents can change their 7 or 14 day periods for small game by calling the 1-800-406-6409 licensing number prior to the start of the period. It costs $4 per license to do so.
Nonresident reciprocal youth hunting licenses
(North Dakota Century Code 20.1-03-07.2): A nonresident youth less than sixteen years of age may purchase a resident small game hunting license and may hunt small game and waterfowl except swans and wild turkeys; provided, that the nonresident youth's state [currently the states of Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Wisconsin], or province or territory of Canada of residence provides a reciprocal licensing agreement for North Dakota residents less than sixteen years of age. The nonresident youth may not have arrived at the age of sixteen before September first of the year for which the license is issued and must possess a certificate of completion for a certified hunter education course. The nonresident youth may only hunt under the supervision of an adult family member or legal guardian who is licensed to hunt small game or waterfowl in this state and is subject to the same regulations as the adult family member or legal guardian. This section does not apply to big game or to a license issued by lottery.
A nonresident full-time student living in North Dakota and attending an institution of higher learning under the jurisdiction of the Board of Higher Education, a private institution, or a tribal college may qualify to purchase resident (non lottery) licenses. Details and license sales are available only through our web site at Online Services.
Sandhill crane hunters must possess a $5 Sandhill Crane Permit in addition to other licenses. Permits available from the game and fish office, Online Services, or by calling instant licensing on the telephone at 1-800-406-6409 (Note: for instant licensing on the telephone, a service charge of $4 is assessed for each transaction under $70 and $10 for transactions of $70 or more). Note: After obtaining a sandhill crane permit a nonresident may hunt crane with either a nonresident waterfowl license or a nonresident small game license, subject to the restrictions such as time periods and zones specified on that license.