North Dakota Banner

ND.gov Banner - visit nd.gov
North Dakota Legendary - visit ndtourism.gov

Wild Turkey

Hunter Education Requirements and Who is Exempt
Persons born after 1961 must complete a certified hunter education course and show proof of certification when buying or applying for hunting licenses (official courses offered by other states and Canadian provinces meet these requirements).  Exceptions: Persons under age 12 who hunt only with their parent or legal guardian; persons who hunt exclusively on land of which they are the record title owner or operator; and those who obtain an Apprentice Hunting License

View Wild Turkey Hunting Units Map

 

Spring Wild Turkey (Residents Only)

View 2013 regulations, including licenses available by unit and boundary descriptions.

2013 season dates: April 13 - May 19. 

  • Application deadline is February 13. 

Licenses issued by weighted lottery.

A resident must possess these licenses: 

  • Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate - $1
  • General Game and Habitat License - $13
  • Small Game License - $6 (Not required of residents under age 16) or a Combination License - $32 (includes Small Game, General Game and Habitat, Furbearer, and Fishing licenses)
  • Spring Wild Turkey License - $8

Fall Wild Turkey

Residents only are eligible through first lottery. Nonresidents may apply after the first lottery is held.  

View the most recent fall turkey regulations.

2013 season opener: October 12.

Applications available in early August.

Licenses issued by weighted lottery.

A resident must possess these licenses: 

  • Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate - $1
  • General Game and Habitat License - $13
  • Small Game License - $6 (Not required of residents under age 16) or a Combination License - $32 (includes Small Game, General Game and Habitat, Furbearer, and Fishing licenses)
  • Fall Wild Turkey License - $8

A nonresident must possess these licenses: 

  • Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate - $2
  • General Game and Habitat License - $13
  • Nonresident Fall Wild Turkey License - $80.

A Nonresident May Not Hunt G&F Lands October 12-18
In accordance with state law, nonresidents are not allowed to hunt on Game and Fish Department wildlife management areas or conservation PLOTS (Private Land Open To Sportsmen) areas from October 12-18, 2013.