North Dakota Banner

ND.gov Banner - visit nd.gov
North Dakota Legendary - visit ndtourism.gov

Nonresident Licenses and Requirements

Resident Licenses
 

In North Dakota hunting, fishing and boat licensing fees support wildlife management area management, fish stocking, educational programs, wildlife and fisheries surveys, boat and fishing access, the PLOTS program, enforcement and more.

Note: During the 2013 legislative session, North Dakota lawmakers passed a bill that increased fees for many hunting and fishing licenses. This legislation passed with overwhelming support from legislators, hunters and anglers. This was the first comprehensive license fee adjustment in nearly two decades, so hunters and anglers will likely notice some changes when the new fee schedule (see below) goes into effect on April 1, 2014.

(View fee comparison)


Nonresident Licenses

Deer gun, bighorn sheep and tundra swan licenses are issued by lottery and require special application procedures. Go to Online Services to learn what lottery licenses are available at the present time or download and print an application.

Note: For a breakdown of licenses required by species/season please see the Licensing Requirements Quick Reference.

Prerequisites

Prerequisite for all hunting and fishing licenses
Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate (need only purchase one per year) $2
Prerequisite for all hunting licenses except furbearer
General Game and Habitat License (need only purchase one per year) $20

Fishing
Individual Season Fishing; nonresidents under 16 do not need a fishing license if accompanied by a licensed adult, except that paddlefish tags are required for all paddlefish snaggers. $45
Husband and Wife Season Fishing $60
3 Day Fishing $25
10 Day Fishing $35
Paddlefish Tag $25.50
Big Game
Deer Gun (1st Lottery) - includes general game and habitat stamp, $20; nonresident hunting, fishing, furbearer certificate, $2; and a $5 application fee. All but application fee is refunded if application is unsuccessful. After second lottery is held, a nonresident deer gun license is $50, if available. $277
Deer Bow $250
Small Game
Small Game; a nonresident must choose between a 14-consecutive-day or two 7-consecutive-day license periods and may purchase more than one license per year. $100
Early Canada Goose
Early Canada Goose (new license for 2013); required of all hunters regardless of age for the early Canada goose season; ages 16 and older also need general game and habitat license and federal waterfowl stamp. Nonresidents under age 16 can purchase license at resident fee if their state has youth reciprocity licensing with North Dakota. Early Canada goose license does not count against the 14-day regular season nonresident license. $50
Fall Wild Turkey
Fall wild Turkey; after the first lottery has been held, if licenses remain, nonresidents may purchase a fall wild turkey license. $80
Sandhill Crane
Sandhill Crane; small game or waterfowl license also required. $30
Nongame
Nongame, allows taking unprotected species such as prairie dog, skunk, rabbits and ground squirrels. $15
Furbearer and Nongame
Furbearer and Nongame; allows taking unprotected species and for hunting fox and coyote. $40
Waterfowl Licenses. There are two types available.
1) A statewide license, allows hunting statewide for two 7-day periods or one 14-day period. $150
2) A zone-restricted license that requires selection of hunting zones (zone map) according to the following restrictions: $100
  • A nonresident must select Zone 1 or Zone 2 for one seven-day period and Zone 3 for the other seven-day period; or
  • Zone 3 for the full 14 days or two seven-day periods; or
  • Zones 1 and 3 concurrently for the same 7-day period or zones 2 and 3 concurrently for the same 7-day period. This option effectively reduces the license to seven days only, as the two 7-day periods are run at the same time.
Federal Waterfowl Stamp (Duck Stamp)
Required of all hunters ages 16 and older to hunt ducks, geese, swans, mergansers, brant and coot. Exception: Not required to hunt during spring light goose conservation season. $15
Harvest Information Program (HIP) Registration
All hunters regardless of age must obtain a new Harvest Information Program registration number each year for each state in which they hunt ducks, geese, swans, mergansers, coots, cranes, snipe, doves and woodcock. Free

A Nonresident May Not Hunt Game and Fish Department Lands Oct. 12-18

Nonresidents may not hunt on lands owned or leased by the North Dakota Game and Fish Department, including state wildlife management areas and Private Lands Open To Sportsmen (PLOTS), for the first week of pheasant season (October 12-18). This restriction applies to all types of hunting, not just pheasants. This restriction does not apply to lands owned or managed by other state agencies that may be open to hunting, such as state school lands, federal lands that may be open to hunting, such as U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service waterfowl production areas, or to private lands not enrolled in the Game and Fish PLOTS program.