A new state law requires both resident and nonresident early Canada goose season hunters to purchase a special license.
All resident hunters, regardless of age, must buy a $5 early Canada goose season license, in addition to having a general game and habitat license. Residents age 16 and older also need a small game license.
Nonresidents must purchase a $50 early Canada goose license. The license is valid statewide, and does not have a limit on the number of days a nonresident can hunt. Nonresidents under age 16 as of Sept. 1 qualify for the resident rate if their state has a reciprocal youth licensing agreement with North Dakota.
A federal duck stamp is required beginning Sept. 1 for hunters age 16 and older.
Early goose season licenses are only available through electronic purchase, either online at the North Dakota Game and Fish Department website, gf.nd.gov; by calling (800) 406-6409; or at license vendors in counties that are linked to the Game and Fish Department’s online licensing system. In counties that are not on the Game and Fish system, the licenses are not available with the paper general hunting licenses.
County auditors and all their authorized license vendors that are part of the Game and Fish Department electronic licensing system are: Adams, Benson, Bottineau, Bowman, Burleigh, Cass, Dickey, Grand Forks, Grant, McIntosh, Mercer, Morton, Ramsey, Rolette, Sargent, Stark, Steele, Stutsman, Walsh, Ward and Williams.